Anja Boisen, Technical University of Denmark

Title: Micro and nano structures for biosensing and oral drug delivery
Session: Tuesday 6 October, 13:45


The optics and mechanics from a DVD player can be used to realize compact and sensitive sensor systems. By rotating a disc with integrated microfluidic channels it is possible to manipulate liquid samples such as blood – performing crucial operations like separation, valving and mixing. We integrate sensors such as cantilevers, nanoparticles and resonating strings with centrifugal microfluidics. The sensors are read out by a DVD pick-up head which can perform transmission/absorption measurements and which can detect nm deflections. Also, electrodes are integrated on a disc platform, facilitating electrochemical measurements. Examples of applications include rapid diagnostics, prognostics and process monitoring.
Micrometer sized containers can be used for oral drug delivery. The hypothesis is that oral drug delivery can be improved significantly by utilizing micrometer sized containers loaded with drug(s) and sealed by intelligent lids that open at specific locations in the body. The containers will protect active pharmaceutical ingredients during the passage through the stomach and facilitate adhesion to the wall of the intestine for controlled and unidirectional release. We will show our recent findings and results.


Anja Boisen is professor and head of Nanoprobes research group at department of Micro and Nanotechnology, Technical University of Denmark. Also, she is heading a DNRF and Villum Centre of Excellence named 'IDUN - Intelligent Drug Delivery and Sensing Using Microcontainers and Nanomechanics'. She has thorough knowledge on micromechanics and nanotechnology. Her research group focuses on development and application of micro and nano mechanical sensors and microfabricated systems for oral drug delivery. Anja is cofounder of companies Cantion, Silmeco and BluSense. She is among others vice chair of the board of 'Innovation Fund Denmark' and member of the Villum Foundation, the Danish Academy of the Technical Sciences and the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences. In 2008 she was awarded the largest research prize in Denmark, the Villum Kann Rasmussen award and in 2012 she was awarded the EliteForsk Award from the Danish ministry of Research, Innovation and Higher Education. In 2013 she received the 'Sapere Aude – top researcher award' from the Danish Council for Independent Research.


NanoCity 2015
Powered by Invitado Visitor Management